American Psephology

The 1789 Presidential Election in Delaware

On January 7, 1789, Delaware's voters chose an elector from each county to vote for president. New Castle chose Gunning Bedford, Sr., with 163 votes, Kent chose John Banning unanimously, and Sussex chose George Mitchell with 522 votes.

All three electors voted for George Washington and John Jay on February 4.